Australian Research Council (Board)

The Australian Research Council (ARC) is a statutory agency and advises the Government on research matters, manages the National Competitive Grants Program, a significant component of Australia's investment in research and development. The ARC is also responsible for the assessing the quality, engagement and impact of Australian university research. The ARC supports the highest-quality fundamental and applied research and research training through a competitive peer review process involving national and international assessors across all disciplines. In addition, the ARC supports partnerships between researchers and industry, government, community organisations and the international community. The Australian Research Council (ARC) Board is the accountable authority of the ARC and its functions include: • Determining priorities, strategies and policies for the ARC and advising the Minister of those priorities, strategies and policies • Assisting the Minister in the performance of the Minister’s functions under the Australian Research Council Act 2001 • Providing advice to the Minister on research matters. The Board is responsible for the approval of most grants within the National Competitive Grants Program (NCGP).

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Australian Research Council Amendment (Review Response) Act 2024

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Function Categorization


  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Level 2, 11 Lancaster Place
    Canberra Airport ACT 2609

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Prof. Peter Shergold AC 1 July 2024 30 June 2029
Deputy Chair Prof. Susan Dodds FAHA 1 July 2024 30 June 2029
Member Distinguished Prof. Margaret Walter 1 July 2024 30 June 2029
Member Emeritus Prof. Margaret Harding 1 July 2024 30 June 2029
Member Mr. Mark Stickells AM 1 July 2024 30 June 2029
Member Prof. Cindy Shannon AM 1 July 2024 30 June 2029
Member Prof. Paul Wellings CBE 1 July 2024 30 June 2029
Member Ms. Sally-Ann Williams FTSE 1 July 2024 30 June 2029
Last updated: