Woomera Prohibited Area Advisory Board

The Woomera Prohibited Area (WPA) Advisory Board has an independent Chair and Deputy Chair, with ex officio members drawn from Commonwealth and South Australian stakeholder agencies. The Advisory Board’s role is to monitor and report on the balance of national security and economic interests in the WPA; - oversee the implementation of the co-existence policy arrangements; and - foster strategic relationships between Defence and non-Defence users of the WPA. The Board meets on a quarterly basis.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    D. Advisory Body - Policy and Stakeholder Consultation

  • Established By / Under


  • Established By/Under More info

    Agreed to as a recommendation of the Hawke Review 2011

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?

    Yes, but not tabled

  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Function Categorization

    Advisory Board

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    R1-1-D Zone, PO Box 7901
    Canberra BC ACT 2610

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair The Hon. Amanda Vanstone AO 1 July 2021 2025
Deputy Chair Ms. Andrea Slattery 1 July 2021 2025
Member Mr Richard Price 17 November 2017 Determined by the appointer
Member Air Marshal Robert Chipman AO CSC 1 July 2022 1 July 2025
Member Dr. Paul Heithersay 5 October 2012 Determined by the appointer
Member Mr. Hugh Jeffrey 29 August 2022 Determined by the appointer
Member Ms. Jane Urquhart 2 September 2022 Determined by the appointer
Last updated: