Following the 2022 Federal Election outcome an interim Ministry has now been sworn in and the caretaker period has ceased. Further updates to this website will be made in due course.


Australian Navy (Royal Australian Navy)

The Royal Australian Navy (RAN), forms part of the Defence Force, to promote and protect Australia's interests at sea using ships, submarines and aircraft manned by skilled personnel. The RAN was initially created as the Australian Fleet Unit and given the title "Royal Australian Navy" by Royal Charter on 10 July 1911.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory Office Holder Offices and Committees

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Defence Act 1903, section 30

  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Navy Headquarters
    Russell Offices Canberra ACT 2600

Last updated: