The Australian Strategic Policy Institute (ASPI) is an independent, non-partisan think tank that produces expert and timely advice for Australia's strategic and defence leaders. ASPI generates new ideas for government, allowing them to make better-informed decisions for Australia's future. ASPI is one of the most authoritative and widely quoted contributors to public discussion of strategic policy issues in Australia and a recognised and authoritative Australian voice in international discussion of strategic issues, especially in the Asia-Pacific. ASPI aims, through its website, publications, blog, events and media activities, to be innovative, accurate and well-informed and to broaden public knowledge about the critical strategic choices our country will face over the coming years. The institute's work helps to foster strategic expertise in Australia through dialogue, research and its contribution to public debate. ASPI strives to provide a strong focus and constructive commentary on the practical choices and issues which confront Australia's strategic policy decisions, and this is reflected in ASPI's core values of collegiality, originality and innovation, quality and excellence, and independence. ASPI was established by the Australian Government in 2001 and is partially funded by the Department of Defence with other sources of revenue include sponsorship, commissioned tasks, a membership scheme, sale of publications, advertising and event registration fees.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under


  • Established By/Under More info

    Corporations Act company controlled by the Commonwealth

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Executive Management

  • Creation Date

    22 August 2001

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair VACANT    
Member VACANT    
Member Mr. Stephen Conroy The Hon 31 March 2017 31 March 2020
Member AVM Margaret Staib AM, CSC, Retd 1 January 2015 31 December 2021
Member Mr. David Johnston 31 March 2017 31 March 2020
Member Ms. Jane Halton PSM 20 December 2016 20 December 2019
Member Prof. Joan Beaumont 20 December 2016 20 December 2019
Member Mr. Jim McDowell 20 December 2016 20 December 2019
Last updated: