Advisory Committee on Social, Economic and Environmental Sciences

Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water
The Advisory Committee on Social, Economic and Environmental Sciences (ACSEES) is established by the Murray-Darling Basin Authority (MDBA) as an advisory committee under the Water Act. The committee's role is to provide strategic advice on science and knowledge to underpin the implementation of an adaptive Basin Plan. The committee consists of six members who bring a depth of understanding of issues relevant to implementing the Basin Plan. Members provide skills and eminence in fields of economics, hydrology, ecology and resilience, water governance and law, sociology and sustainable systems. ACSEES is specifically established to provide scientific advice including on social and economic matters. The MDBA will also take advice from other high level advisory committees including the Basin Community Committee and the Northern Basin Advisory Committee which have been established to specifically provide local and community input in Basin Plan matters.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory office holder, offices and committees

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Water Act 2007

  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?

    No, but noted in parent's annual report

  • Classification

    B. Secondary statutory structure

  • Auditor


  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Level 4, 51 Allara St
    Canberra City ACT

Last updated: