Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority (Board)

Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water
Under the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Act 1975, the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority (the Authority) is responsible for managing one of the world's premier natural resources: - the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. The Authority is governed by the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority Board, which comprises a part-time Chairperson, the CEO, and five other part-time members. The Board has responsibility for carrying out the Authority’s functions consistent with the main object of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Act 1975 - to ‘provide for the long term protection and conservation of the environment, biodiversity and heritage values of the Great Barrier Reef Region’. The Authority's primary outcome is to ensure the long-term protection, ecologically sustainable use, understanding and enjoyment of the Great Barrier Reef for all Australians and the international community through the care and development of the Marine Park. This outcome is supported by four main program areas: • Enhancing Reef resilience by providing expert knowledge to advise key decision makers on managing, reducing or avoiding significant threats to the Reef • Enhancing Reef resilience through innovation, management and regulation of the Marine Park and our in-field presence • Enhancing Reef resilience through partnerships, collaboration and education • Supporting a high-performing organisation.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Act 1975

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Executive Management

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    2-68 Flinders Street
    Townsville QLD 4810

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Dr. Ian Poiner FTSE 25 May 2023 24 May 2028
Member Mr. Duane Fraser 3 October 2019 2 October 2024
Member Ms. Elissa Keenan 7 February 2024 6 February 2029
CEO/Executive Director/Managing Director Mr. Joshua Thomas 18 March 2024 17 March 2029
Member Ms. Robbie Sefton 28 May 2020 27 May 2025
Member Prof. Emma Johnston AO 27 May 2021 26 May 2026
Member Mr. Jamie Merrick 16 October 2023 15 October 2028
Last updated: