The Director of National Parks (DNP), Jody Swirepik PSM is responsible for the conservation and the management of the Commonwealth Government’s six terrestrial reserves, the Australian National Botanic Gardens and sixty marine parks established under the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Act 1999 (EPBC Act). The DNP is supported by A/g First Assistant Secretary, Jason Mundy and Parks Australia Divisional staff, and temporarily also by DAWE First Assistant Secretary, Neal Mason. The division is made up of six branches: NT Kakadu National Park, NT Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Strategic Partnerships and Australian National Botanic Gardens, Booderee and Business Services, Asset Infrastructure and Marine and Island Parks. The division has three main purposes: 1. Sustainable use and enjoyment of Commonwealth parks and gardens by the Australian and international community. 2. Opportunities and threats to natural and cultural values are effectively managed for all Australians. 3. Partnerships with Traditional Owners and/or other stakeholders enhance the management of Commonwealth parks and gardens for all Australians.


Key People

Last updated: