Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water
The Australian Energy Regulator regulates the electricity and gas industries, setting prices for using energy networks (electricity poles and wires and gas pipelines) to transport energy, and monitoring the wholesale electricity and gas markets to ensure suppliers comply with the National Electricity Law and Rules and the National Gas Law and Rules. The AER also regulates and monitors retail energy markets and enforces the National Energy Retail Law and the National Energy Retail Rules in SA, NSW, ACT and Tasmania. The AER Board has five members appointed by the Governor-General: two Commonwealth member, who must also be a member of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC), and three State and/or Territory members (sections 44AM-44AS of the Competition and Consumer Act 2010). The AER has an independent Board, with its staff, resources and facilities provided by the ACCC.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory office holder, offices and committees

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Competition and Consumer Act 2010

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary statutory structure

  • Function Categorization

    Executive Management

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Level 35, The Tower, 360 Elizabeth St
    Melbourne Central VIC 3000

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Ms. Clare Savage 14 October 2024 13 October 2027
Deputy Chair Mr. Justin Oliver 26 June 2024 2 February 2025
Member Ms. Lynne Gallagher 1 June 2023 31 May 2028
Member Mr. Justin Oliver 3 February 2020 2 February 2025
Member Mr. Jarrod Ball 22 May 2023 21 May 2028
Last updated: