The Royal Commission into Defence and Veteran Suicide was established on 8 July 2021 by the Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia, His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd). Mr Nick Kaldas APM has been appointed as the Chair of the Royal Commission. He will be supported by two other Commissioners: - The Hon James Douglas QC - Dr Peggy Brown AO The Letters Patent for the Royal Commission, which formally appoint the Commissioners, also outline the Commission's terms of reference. The date for the Commissioners to provide their report is no later than 15 June 2023.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    F. Non Statutory - Function w Separate Branding

  • Established By / Under


  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Creation Date

    8 July 2021

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Commissioner The Hon. James Douglas QC 8 July 2021 15 June 2023
Commissioner Mr. Naguib Kaldas APM 8 July 2021 15 June 2023
Commissioner Dr. Peggy Brown 8 July 2021 15 June 2023
Last updated: