National Native Title Tribunal

The Tribunal aims to advance the process of reconciliation among all Australians by providing for recognition and protection of native title, establishing a mechanism for determining claims to native title and establishing ways in which future dealings affecting native title may proceed. The Native Title Act 1993 established the Native Title Registrar as the administrative head of the Tribunal. The Tribunal comprises the President, Members and Registrar, who are appointed by the Governor General.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory office holder, offices and committees

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Native Title Act 1993 (Cwlth)

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?

    No, but noted in parent's annual report

  • Classification

    B. Secondary statutory structure

  • Function Categorization

    Regulatory / Review / Inquiry / Commission

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Level 5, Commonwealth Law Courts Building, 1 Victoria Avenue
    Perth WA 6000

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Member Ms Nerida Cooley 11 February 2024 10 February 2029
Member Ms Lisa Eaton 16 December 2022 15 December 2027
President Mr Kevin Smith 10 July 2023 9 July 2028
Member Mr Glen Kelly 2 March 2021 1 March 2026

Current single executive appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Native Title Registrar Ms Katie Stride 7 August 2023 6 August 2028
Last updated: