Australian Human Rights Commission

The Australian Human Rights Commission promotes and protects human rights in Australia including through: - resolving complaints of discrimination or breaches of human rights under federal laws - holding public inquiries into human rights issues of national importance - developing human rights education programs and resources for schools, workplaces and the community - providing independent legal advice to assist courts in cases that involve human rights principles - providing advice and submissions to parliaments and governments to develop laws, policies and programs - undertaking and coordinating research into human rights and discrimination issues. The Commission works closely with other government agencies, the business community, the non-government sector and individuals to fulfil its role. Additionally, the Commission works closely with other national human rights institutions, particularly through the Asia Pacific Forum of National Human Rights Institutions to address major human rights issues in the region, and undertakes bilateral activities as part of the Australian Government's development program.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory Office Holder Offices and Committees

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Australian Human Rights Commission Act 1986

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Regulatory / Review / Inquiry / Commission

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Level 3, 175 Pitt Street
    Sydney NSW 2000

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Commissioner Ms Rosemary Kayess 29 January 2024 28 January 2029
Commissioner Mr Giridharan Sivaraman 4 March 2024 3 March 2029
Commissioner Ms Katie Kiss 3 April 2024 2 April 2029
Commissioner Ms Anne Hollonds 2 November 2020 1 November 2025
Commissioner Dr Anna Cody 4 September 2023 3 September 2028
Commissioner Mr. Robert Fitzgerald AM 2 April 2024 1 April 2029
Commissioner Ms Lorraine Finlay 22 November 2021 21 November 2026
President Prof. Rosalind Croucher AM 30 July 2017 29 July 2024
Last updated: