Copyright Tribunal of Australia

The Copyright Tribunal of Australia is an independent body administered by the Federal Court of Australia. The Tribunal consists of a President, a number of Deputy Presidents and other members as appointed by the Governor-General. A presidential member must be a judge of the Federal Court of Australia. Other members must have a knowledge of, or experience in one of the areas of expertise as set out in s. 140(2) of the Copyright Act 1968, which includes law, industry, public administration and economics. The Tribunal has no physical resources of its own. Registry services and administrative support for the Tribunal are provided by staff of the Federal Court. Generally, the Tribunal has jurisdiction with respect to the Copyright Statutory Licences and Voluntary Licences.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory Office Holder Offices and Committees

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Copyright Act 1968

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?

    No, but noted in parent's annual report

  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization


  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    Level 17 Governor Macquarie Tower, 1 Farrer Place
    Sydney NSW 2000

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Deputy President The Hon Justice Helen Mary Joan Rofe 15 December 2022 14 December 2027
Deputy President The Hon Justice Thomas Thawley 15 December 2022 14 December 2027
Deputy President The Hon Justice The Hon. Michael O'Bryan 15 December 2022 14 December 2027
Member Ms. Michelle Groves 16 April 2018 15 April 2023
President The Hon Justice Nye Perram SC 8 December 2022 7 December 2029
Last updated: