Following the 2022 Federal Election outcome an interim Ministry has now been sworn in and the caretaker period has ceased. Further updates to this website will be made in due course.


Lake Eyre Basin Scientific Advisory Panel

Agriculture, Water and the Environment
The Scientific Advisory Panel is appointed by the Lake Eyre Basin Ministerial Forum. Its primary role is to provide relevant, timely and high quality scientific advice to the Ministerial Forum on matters relevant to the management of water and related natural resources within the Agreement Area, consistent with the spirit and intent of the Agreement. In particular, the Scientific Advisory Panel provides advice on monitoring the condition of rivers and catchments within the Agreement Area and the establishment of programs to meet those requirements.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    H. Inter Jurisdictional and International Bodies

  • Established By / Under

    Agreement / Treaty / Council Order

  • Established By/Under More info

    Lake Eyre Basin intergovernmental agreement

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Function Categorization

    Advisory Board

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    18 Marcus Clarke Street
    Canberra City ACT 2601

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Dr. Stephen Morton 16 November 2021 15 November 2022
Member Prof. Angela Arthington 16 November 2021 15 November 2022
Member Prof. Sue Jackson 16 November 2021 15 November 2022
Member Mr. Tim Ransley 16 November 2021 15 November 2022
Member Dr. Francis Chiew 16 November 2021 15 November 2022
Last updated: