Veterans' Affairs
The Repatriation Commission is responsible under the Veterans' Entitlements Act 1986 (VEA) for granting pensions, allowances and other benefits, and to provide treatment for veterans, their dependants and other eligible persons. In addition, the Repatriation Commission will advise the Minister for Veterans' Affairs on the operation of the VEA and generally to administer the VEA subject to the control of the Minister. There are three full-time members of the Repatriation Commission; the President, who is also the Secretary of the Department of Veteran's Affairs and the Chair of the Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission (MRCC), the Deputy President and the Repatriation Commissioner. The Commission is assisted by staff made available by the Secretary of the Department.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory Office Holder Offices and Committees

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Australian Soldiers' Repatriation Act 1920

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Executive Management

  • Creation Date

    1 July 1920

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Mr. Simon Lewis PSM 11 July 2013 10 July 2018
Deputy Chair Mr. Craig Orme DSC AM CSC 2 February 2015 1 February 2020
Member Major General Mark Kelly AO DSC 1 July 2017 30 June 2019
Last updated: