The Australian Government Financial Literacy Board (commonly referred to as the Financial Literacy Board) is a non-statutory body that provides advice to government and ASIC on financial literacy issues. The Board comprises 13 members appointed by the Assistant Treasurer, usually for a term of 3 years. Members are appointed in their own right, rather than as representatives of particular organisations, and volunteer their services. The Board meets quarterly to discuss financial literacy initiatives as they relate to business, education and the community sector.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    D. Advisory Body - Policy and Stakeholder Consultation

  • Established By / Under

    Principal Body / Management Board / Senior Executive Officer

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Function Categorization

    Advisory Board

  • Creation Date

    1 July 2006

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair VACANT    
Member VACANT    
Member VACANT    
Member Mr. James Shipton 1 February 2018 31 January 2023
Member VACANT    
Member VACANT    
Member VACANT    
Member Dr. Phil Lambert PSM 19 April 2016 30 April 2020
Member Ms. Theresa Mills 19 April 2016 30 April 2020
Last updated: