Please note that the content on this website is being progressively updated following the issuing of Administrative Arrangements Orders on 23 June, 2022.


Aboriginals Benefit Account Advisory Committee

Prime Minister and Cabinet
The Aboriginals Benefit Account Advisory Committee (ABAAC) advises the Minister for Indigenous Affairs on Aboriginals Benefit Account (ABA) payments for projects that will benefit Aboriginal people living in the Northern Territory. Decisions about what initiatives will be funded are made by the Minister. The committee is made up of a Chair appointed by the Minister and 14 members elected by the four Northern Territory Land Councils.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory Office Holder Offices and Committees

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Aboriginal Land Rights (Northern Territory) Act 1976 Subsection 65(1) and is a special account for the purposes of the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Act 2013

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Function Categorization

    Advisory Board

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    GPO Box 9932
    Darwin NT 800

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Ms. Leeanne Caton 10 November 2020 9 November 2022
Last updated: