Ministerial Support Division provides support to the Prime Minister, the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) and other portfolio Ministers’ offices. The Division consists of 3 Branches with diverse responsibilities. The Ministerial and Parliamentary Support Branch handles correspondence, coordinates briefs, Senate Estimates processes and Questions on Notice. The Branch, through its VIP Operations Team, also oversees The Lodge and Kirribilli House, provides support services for the former Governors-General, Ministerial offices and the Official Residences Advisory Committee and manages the Departmental Liaison Officers who work in the Prime Minister’s and portfolio Ministers’ offices. The Governance and Strategy Branch is responsible for the department’s governance arrangements, including the risk management framework, performance reporting, internal audit, corporate planning processes and fraud control. The Branch conducts fraud investigations and manages the complaints handling function. The Communications Branch looks after speeches and messages, the websites for the Prime Minister, Ministers and the Department, strategic communications for the Department’s programs and initiatives, media and internal communication. It also has responsibility for digital communications.

Key People

Further information

  • Postal Address

    PO Box 6500 Canberra ACT 2600

Last updated: