Prime Minister and Cabinet
On 28 January 2015, the Prime Minister announced that the 2015 COAG agenda will address the problem of violence against women at a national level. The Prime Minister has established an Advisory Panel to support COAG to address the problem of violence against women in Australia. Former Victorian Police Commissioner, Mr Ken Lay APM, will Chair the Advisory Panel. Ms Rosie Batty, Australian of the Year 2015, and Ms Heather Nancarrow, Chief Executive Officer of Australia's National Research Organisation for Women's Safety (ANROWS) are joint Deputy Chairs. You can read the Prime Minister's announcement about the full membership of the Advisory Panel here. On 17 April 2015, COAG, in its 39th meeting, addressed the problem of violence against women.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    D. Advisory Body - Policy and Stakeholder Consultation

  • Established By / Under

    Prime Minister

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Creation Date

    28 January 2015

Last updated: