Infrastructure, Transport, Cities and Regional Development
On 1 September 2014, amendments to the Infrastructure Australia Act 2008 came into effect. The amendments re-establish Infrastructure Australia (IA) as a separate entity under the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Act 2013, and provide for an independent governing entity that is both legally and financially separate from the Commonwealth, including a new Board. The amendments specifically created a Chief Executive Officer (CEO) position that reports to a newly created Board, effectively abolishing the existing Infrastructure Coordinator role and the IA Council. In accordance with other Government boards, the CEO position is responsible for implementing the Board's strategic objectives. It requires IA to: • develop a 15 year infrastructure plan for Australia based on national, state and local infrastructure priorities and revised every five years • undertake new evidence-based audit of Australia's current infrastructure asset base, in collaboration with State and Territory Governments that will be updated every five years and fed into the 15 year plan • develop top down priority lists at national and state levels • evaluate both economic and social infrastructure proposals and publish the justification for prioritisation, including benefit costs analysis • provide a quarterly publication summarising all project proposals evaluated • promote public awareness of matters arising from its functions

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Infrastructure Australia Act 2008, part 2

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Advisory Board

  • Creation Date

    1 September 2014

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Ms. Julieanne Alroe 1 September 2017 31 August 2020
Member Ms. Samantha Hogg 1 March 2019 30 November 2021
Member VACANT    
Member Mr. Rod Hook 1 April 2019 31 March 2022
Member Ms. Deena Shiff 1 September 2017 31 August 2020
Member Mr. Reece Waldock 2 January 2018 1 September 2020
Member Mr. Peter Harris 1 March 2019 30 November 2021
Member Mr. Peter Corish 1 February 2019 31 July 2021
Member Ms. Gabrielle Trainor 1 February 2019 31 July 2021
Member VACANT    
Member VACANT    
Member VACANT    
Last updated: