Infrastructure and Regional Development
The role of the Administrator is essentially the same as a State Governor and includes statutory duties (for example, providing assent to proposed laws of the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory), representational duties (for example, awarding honours) and ceremonial duties (for example, becoming a patron of public institutions).

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory Office Holder Offices and Committees

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Northern Territory (Self-Government) Act 1978, section 32

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Creation Date

    1 July 1978

Current single executive appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
First Dormant Commission Holder (Acting Administrator) Ms. Patricia Miller AO 30 June 2011 Determined by the appointer
Second Dormant Commission Holder (Acting Administrator) Chief Justice the Hon Trevor Riley QC 1 July 2011 Determined by the appointer
Administrator of the Northern Territory Mrs. Vicki O'Halloran AM 31 October 2017 30 October 2019
Last updated: