Industry, Science, Energy and Resources
The Trans-Tasman IP Attorneys Board (the Board) administers the regulatory and disciplinary regimes for patent attorneys in Australia and New Zealand, and trade marks attorneys in Australia. The Board meets three times a year. The Board is established under section 227A of the Patents Act 1990. Its role is to determine: - the academic qualifications required to become patent and trade marks attorneys; - knowledge requirements for a person to register as a patent or trade marks attorney; - accreditation of courses that satisfy the subject requirements under the Patents Regulations 1991; - exemptions from requirements of a topic group or groups based on prior study; - professional conduct of patent and trade marks attorneys; - disciplinary matters including complaints procedure; and - anything incidental to or conducive to the performance of any of the above functions. IP Australia provides secretariat services to the Board. The Board has 7-10 members. The Director General of IP Australia (or his/her nominee) and the New Zealand Commissioner of Patents (or his/her nominee) are members of the Board for as long as they hold these positions. The Board also includes a Chair, at least two members nominated by the New Zealand Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs to represent the New Zealand patent attorney profession, and at least two other members. These other members are usually Australian patent attorneys or trade marks attorneys, but they can also be lawyers, academics or people skilled in public administration. The Minister for Industry, Science and Technology appoints all members except for the Director General and the New Zealand Commissioner of Patents.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory Office Holder Offices and Committees

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Minister / Patents Act 1990 and Patents Regulations 1991

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Function Categorization

    Regulatory / Review / Inquiry / Commission

  • Creation Date

    24 February 2017

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Ms. Elizabeth Hopkins 15 October 2019 14 October 2022
Other Mr. Ross van der Schyff 24 February 2017 Determined by the appointer
Other Mr. Michael Schwager 20 September 2018 Determined by the appointer
Member Mr. Ian Finch 24 February 2020 23 February 2023
Member Ms Kate Duckworth 6 July 2018 5 July 2021
Member Dr Karin Innes 6 July 2018 5 July 2021
Member Mr. Anthony Alder 15 October 2019 14 October 2022
Member Ms Viet-Chau Tran 6 July 2018 5 July 2021
Member Mr. Carl Harrap 15 October 2019 14 October 2022
Last updated: