Industry, Innovation and Science
Questacon - The National Science and Technology Centre promotes greater understanding and awareness of science and technology within the community. Questacon was in the Department of Communications, Information, Technology and the Arts until 1 July 2003, when it became a part of the Department of Education, Science and Training until December 2007. Since then it has operated as a division within the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science. Members are appointed by the Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science and endorsed by the Prime Minister. The Questacon Advisory Council (QAC) comprises a Chair, the Questacon director and additional members, there is no limit to the number of QAC members, membership typically varies from 7-10 members.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    F. Non Statutory - Function w Separate Branding

  • Established By / Under


  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Function Categorization

    Advisory Board

  • Creation Date

    23 November 1988

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Mr. Leon Kempler OAM 22 September 2017 22 September 2019
Deputy Chair Mr. Eddie Kutner 2 May 2016 2 May 2019
Member VACANT    
Member Dr. Gregory Clark 3 July 2018 5 May 2019
Member Prof. Ian Young AO 5 May 2016 5 May 2019
Member The Hon. Annabelle Bennett AO SC 2 May 2016 2 May 2019
Member Prof. Karin Barovich 2 May 2016 2 May 2019
Member Ms Jane Urquhart 23 November 2017 Determined by the appointer
Last updated: