Industry, Innovation and Science
On 9 May 2017, the Government announced through the 2017-18 Budget measure titled Maintaining Australia's Optical Astronomy Capability - the Australian Astronomical Observatory will cease 1 July 2018. The Australian Astronomical Observatory (Transition) Bill 2018 was tabled in parliament 28 March 2018.
The AAO Advisory Committee is mandated by the Australian Astronomical Observatory Act 2010 and advises the Secretary and Director about the performance of the astronomical functions of the AAO. Members are appointed by the Secretary of Industry.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory Office Holder Offices and Committees

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Australian Astronomical Observatory Act 2010

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Creation Date

    1 July 2010

Last updated: