Industry, Innovation and Science (part of the Jobs and Innovation Portfolio)
The Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO) is Australia's national nuclear research and development organisation, and the centre of Australian nuclear expertise. Its unique expertise is applied to radiopharmaceutical production, research into areas of national priority including health, materials engineering and water resource management and helping Australian industries solve complex problems. It also provides expert advice to Government on all matters relating to nuclear science, technology and engineering. ANSTO operates landmark national scientific facilities, including OPAL, Australia's only nuclear research reactor, and more recently the Australian Synchrotron, for the benefit of industry, the Australian research community and all Australians.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation Act 1987

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Executive Management

  • Creation Date

    2 July 1953

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Mr. James McDowell 21 August 2014 11 December 2018
Deputy Chair Ms. Erica Lee Smyth 21 August 2014 13 March 2018
Other Dr. Adrian Paterson 1 March 2017 28 February 2022
Member Prof. Brigid Heywood 28 June 2016 27 June 2021
Member Prof. Margaret Sheil 28 June 2016 27 June 2021
Member Prof. Stephen Buckman AM 23 July 2015 22 July 2020
Member Ms. Esther Carol Holley 25 February 2016 24 February 2021
Member Prof. Andrew Mark Scott 29 September 2016 28 September 2021
Member Ms. Penelope Jane Dobson 24 April 2014 23 April 2019
Last updated: