Industry, Innovation and Science (part of the Jobs and Innovation Portfolio)
The National Offshore Petroleum Safety and Environmental Management Authority is a Commonwealth Statutory Agency regulating the health and safety, structural integrity and environmental management of all offshore petroleum activities in Commonwealth waters, and in coastal waters where state and territory powers and functions have been conferred.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Offshore Petroleum and Greenhouse Gas Storage Act 2006

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Advisory Board

  • Creation Date

    1 January 2012

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Dr. Erica Smyth 18 March 2017 17 March 2020
Member VACANT    
Member VACANT    
Member Mr. Ken Fitzpatrick 15 May 2016 14 March 2019
Member Dr. James Limerick 1 July 2017 Determined by the appointer
Member Prof. Melinda Hodkiewicz 18 March 2017 17 March 2020
Member Mr. Anthony Evans 18 March 2017 17 March 2020
Last updated: