On 3 May 2016, as part of the 2016-17 Budget, it was agreed to reduce the number of TGA advisory committees from 11 to seven, while retaining the existing functions and requirements of the committees. The new committee structure abolishes the Advisory Committee on Non-prescription Medicines.
The Advisory Committee on Non-prescription Medicines (ACNM) was established in January 2010. The ACNM advise and make recommendations to the TGA regarding the entry of non-prescription medicines on the Australian Register of Therapeutic Goods (the Register). The recommendations could relate to the inclusion of a non-prescription medicine on the Register, changes to an entry of a non-prescription medicine, and/or the removal or retention of a non-prescription medicine. The ACNM may also provide advice to the TGA on other matters concerning a non-prescription medicine, and any other matters referred to it by the TGA. The ACNM supersedes the Medicines Evaluation Committee (MEC).

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory Office Holder Offices and Committees

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Therapeutic Goods Regulations 1990

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Creation Date

    1 January 2010

Last updated: