Foreign Affairs and Trade
The Australia-Indonesia Institute aims to develop relations between Australia and Indonesia by promoting greater mutual understanding and by contributing to the enlargement over the longer term of the areas of contact and exchange between the people of Australia and Indonesia. The advisory body forms part of the International Relations Grants Program (IRGP). The IRGP supports the Government's foreign and trade policies and projects a positive contemporary image of Australia. IRGP grants support professional, community and institutional linkages between Australia and its partners on contemporary issues of shared interest including the arts, media, education, business, science, technology and sport. The Institute's core activities are: - the encouragement of the study of the Indonesian language and culture in Australia and the English language and Australian culture in Indonesia; - the enhancement of commercial linkages between Australia and Indonesia; - the identification of possibilities for cooperation in science and technology; - the facilitation of media exchanges; - the sponsorship of cultural and sporting exchanges and training; - the support of Australian studies in Indonesia and of Indonesian studies in Australia; - the strengthening of institutional links between universities, museums, libraries, technical colleges, research institutes, professional organisations and appropriate non- government organisations; - the facilitation of the translation of Australian and Indonesian texts; and - the organisation of visits and exchanges between prominent people and groups;

Further information

  • Type of Body

    D. Advisory Body - Policy and Stakeholder Consultation

  • Established By / Under

    International Agreement / Treaty / Council Order

  • Established By/Under More info

    Executive Council Order

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Function Categorization

    Advisory Board

  • Creation Date

    27 April 1989

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Associate Professor Greg Fealy 27 November 2014 31 May 2018
Member Mr. Greg Sheridan 20 August 2015 19 August 2018
Member Ms. Lydia Santoso 8 October 2015 7 October 2018
Member Mr. Andrew Ross 8 October 2015 7 October 2018
Member Ms Noni Purnomo 15 October 2017 15 October 2020
Member Mr Mr. Gary Quinlan 1 July 2015 Determined by the appointer
Member Ms. Saraswati (Astrid) Vasile 15 October 2017 15 October 2020
Member Dr. Dewi Noverini-Djenar 27 March 2015 26 March 2018
Member Prof. Nicholas Anstey 27 November 2014 15 October 2020
Last updated: