Australia-India Council

Foreign Affairs and Trade
The Australia-India Council works to broaden the relationship between Australia and India by encouraging and supporting contacts and increasing levels of knowledge and understanding between the peoples and institutions of the two countries. The Council initiates or supports a range of activities designed to promote a greater awareness of Australia in India and a greater awareness of India in Australia, including visits and exchanges between the two countries, development of institutional links, and support of studies in each country of the other. The Council offers support, in the form of funding, for projects likely to contribute to the development of the relationship, within the context of AIC objectives and guidelines. Projects are currently focused in the arts, education, science, sport and social and public policy fields. The advisory body forms part of the International Relations Grants Program (IRGP). The IRGP supports the Government's foreign and trade policies and projects a positive contemporary image of Australia. IRGP grants support professional, community and institutional linkages between Australia and its partners on contemporary issues of shared interest including the arts, media, education, business, science, technology and sport.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    D. Advisory Body - Policy and Stakeholder Consultation

  • Established By / Under

    International Agreement / Treaty / Council Order

  • Established By/Under More info

    Executive Council Order

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Function Categorization

    Advisory Board

  • Creation Date

  • Postal Address

    R G Casey Building John McEwen Crescent
    Barton ACT 0221

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Mr. Ashok Jacob 6 August 2020 5 August 2025
Deputy Chair The Hon. Lisa Singh 1 July 2020 5 June 2025
Other Ms. Elly Lawson 23 December 2022 Determined by the appointer
Member Dr. Vanessa Guthrie AO 13 March 2019 21 January 2024
Member The Hon. Ted Baillieu AO 1 July 2020 5 June 2025
Member Mr. Matt Hayden AM 3 July 2020 5 June 2025
Member Ms. Sanushka Seomangal 13 March 2019 21 January 2024
Member Prof. Robin Batterham AO 4 August 2014 21 January 2024
Member Ms. Neema Premji 4 August 2014 21 January 2024
Last updated: