Foreign Affairs and Trade
The Council convenes to consider measures to enhance Australia's relationship with China, Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan. The advisory body forms part of the International Relations Grants Program (IRGP). The IRGP supports the Government's foreign and trade policies and projects a positive contemporary image of Australia. IRGP grants support professional, community and institutional linkages between Australia and its partners on contemporary issues of shared interest including the arts, culture, education, business, and sport. The Council's core activities are: - providing policy advice to the government, and promoting bilateral relations among its network of stakeholders in the strategic priority areas of Economic Diplomacy, Arts and Culture and Education - supporting and funding sustainable, long-term and high-impact projects that directly contribute to the strengthening of Australia-China relations and which support the Government's foreign and trade policy objectives - supporting a network of over 40 Australian Studies Centres located in leading Chinese metropolitan and regional universities through the Australian Studies in China program and the Foundation for Australian Studies in China - a unique partnership between government, corporate and university sectors to advance Australian studies and education in China.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    D. Advisory Body - Policy and Stakeholder Consultation

  • Established By / Under

    International Agreement / Treaty / Council Order

  • Established By/Under More info

    Executive Council Order

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Function Categorization

    Advisory Board

  • Creation Date

    19 May 1978

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair The Hon. Warwick Smith AM 23 February 2017 23 February 2022
Member Mr Mr. Gary Quinlan 1 July 2015 Determined by the appointer
Member Ms. Anne-Marie Schwirtlich AM 4 May 2016 4 May 2019
Member Mr. Daniel Ryan 7 February 2017 31 January 2020
Member Ms. Carolyn Kay 20 February 2017 31 January 2020
Member Prof. Michael Wesley 10 February 2017 31 January 2020
Member Mr. Harold Weldon 13 February 2017 31 January 2020
Member Ms. Margaret Jack 7 February 2017 31 January 2020
Last updated: