Foreign Affairs and Trade
Established in 2015, the Australia-ASEAN Council’s (AAC) mission is to broaden and deepen relationships between Australia and the countries of Southeast Asia through support programs that strengthen next-generation links within Australia and the region. Since it was established, the AAC has been part of the International Relations Grants Program (IRGP), supporting the Government's foreign and trade policies and projecting a positive contemporary image of Australia. IRGP grants support professional, community and institutional connections between Australia and its partners on contemporary issues such as the arts, media, education, business, science, technology and sport. The objectives of the AAC include: • initiation and support of influential persons and groups in Australia and South-East Asian countries, with a focus on development and collaboration between the countries, trade and economic relations and people-to-people links, • promotion of cooperation between individuals and institutions in Australia and South-East Asian countries which enhance learning, teaching and research in areas of mutual interest, • Broaden awareness and understanding in Australia and South-East Asian countries of each other's culture, values and traditions through increased people-to-people capabilities, strengths and opportunities, • promotion of the Australia-ASEAN region relationship and foster relations through media and alumni activities in order to facilitate long-term bilateral links, and, • expansion of people-to-people and institutional links through partnerships with other organisations and seed funding of projects. For further information, visit the AAC website.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    D. Advisory Body - Policy and Stakeholder Consultation

  • Established By / Under


  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Function Categorization

    Advisory Board

  • Creation Date

    8 September 2015

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair VACANT    
Other Justin Hayhurst 23 June 2020 Determined by the appointer
Member VACANT    
Member VACANT    
Member VACANT    
Member VACANT    
Member Ms. Tamerlaine Beasley 12 July 2020 11 July 2023
Member Prof. Nicholas Farrelly 26 August 2020 25 August 2023
Last updated: