Environment and Energy
Implementation of the Intergovernmental Agreement is being driven by the Great Barrier Reef Ministerial Forum. The Ministerial Forum is comprised of two ministers each from the Australian and Queensland governments with responsibility for matters relating to the environment and marine parks, science, tourism and/or natural resource management. Ministers responsible for mining may not be members. The current members are: • The Hon Josh Frydenberg MP - Australian Government Minister for the Environment and Energy (Chair) • The Hon Steven Ciobo MP - Australian Government Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment • The Hon Jackie Trad MP - Queensland Government Deputy Premier, Minister for Transport, Minister for Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning and Minister for Trade • The Hon Dr Steven Miles MP - Queensland Government Minister for Environment and Heritage Protection, Minister for National Parks and the Great Barrier Reef The Ministerial Forum's role is set out in the Intergovernmental Agreement. Protocols for its operation are set out in a schedule to the Agreement. The Ministerial Council met 32 times under the 1979 Emerald Agreement. The Ministerial Council held its first meeting under the new Intergovernmental Agreement on 3 July 2009. The Ministerial Forum held its first meeting on 12 August 2011.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    G. Ministerial Councils and Related Bodies including those Established by the COAG

  • Established By / Under

    Agreement / Treaty / Council Order

  • Established By/Under More info

    Great Barrier Reef Intergovernmental Agreement

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?

    Yes, but not tabled

  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Creation Date

    13 February 2011

Last updated: