Communications and the Arts
The Classification Board is an independent statutory authority established under the National Classification Scheme, a legislated co-operative arrangement created 1 January 1996 between the Australian, state and territory governments that provides a national approach to classification. The board is responsible for classification decisions concerning films, computer games and publications. Principles for decision-making are set out in the National Classification Code. Separate guidelines for the classification of films, computer games and publications are established under the Scheme. The board comprises of a director, a deputy director, other board members and temporary board members.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory Office Holder Offices and Committees

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Classification (Publications, Films and Computer Games) Act 1995

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Function Categorization

    Regulatory / Review / Inquiry / Commission

  • Creation Date

    1 January 1996

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Ms. Margaret Anderson 10 August 2017 24 July 2020
Member Ms. Alison Bickerstaff 21 August 2017 20 August 2019
Member Mr. Ron Delezio 21 August 2017 20 August 2018
Member Mr. Thomas Mann 1 June 2016 31 May 2019
Member Ms. Ellanor Nixon 1 June 2016 31 May 2019
Member Mr. Jarrah Rushton 21 August 2017 20 August 2020
Last updated: