Communications and the Arts
This all-Indigenous Advisory Committee for Indigenous Repatriation (ACIR) is appointed by the Minister for the Arts to advise on policy and program issues related to Indigenous repatriation from Australian and overseas collections. Members of the Advisory Committee for Indigenous Repatriation are appointed based on their knowledge, experience and understanding of repatriation issues. Members do not represent their community or their state or Territory of origin or residence. Committee comprises 5 Aboriginal members and one Torres Strait Islander member. Members must be of Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander descent and have at least one of the following qualifications: - an understanding of Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander culture and traditions - have previous or existing involvement in Indigenous repatriation, and/or - have experience in museum and/or cultural heritage work, and - hold a significant position or play an important role in their community in relation to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander issues.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    D. Advisory Body - Policy and Stakeholder Consultation

  • Established By / Under


  • Established By/Under More info

    Indigenous Repatriation Policy 2011

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?

    No, but noted in parent's annual report

  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Function Categorization

    Advisory Board

  • Creation Date

    21 March 2012

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Mr Mr. Phillip Gordon 2 August 2017 1 August 2020
Chair Ms Ms. Christine Grant 2 August 2017 1 August 2020
Member VACANT    
Member VACANT    
Member VACANT    
Member VACANT    
Last updated: