The Royal Commission into National Natural Disaster Arrangements was established on 20 February 2020 by the Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia, His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd). Air Chief Marshal Mark Binskin AC (Retd) has been appointed as the Chair of the Royal Commission. He will be supported by two other Commissioners: - The Hon Dr Annabelle Bennett AC SC - Professor Andrew Macintosh The Letters Patent for the Royal Commission, which formally appoint the Commissioners, also outline the Commission's terms of reference. The date for the Commissioners to provide a report has been extended from no later than 31 August 2020 to no later than 28 October 2020.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    F. Non Statutory - Function w Separate Branding

  • Established By / Under


  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Creation Date

    20 February 2020

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair VACANT    
Commissioner VACANT    
Commissioner VACANT    
Last updated: