• Policy oversight and coordination on Murray–Darling Basin reform and implementation of the Murray–Darling Basin Plan. • Supporting the Commonwealth’s interests in jointly-funded activities within the Basin and River Murray assets held in joint ownership. • Provide and commission advice on legislation and regulation administered within the water portfolio, including: o Water Act 2007 and the Murray–Darling Basin Agreement o The Basin Plan 2012 o The Water Regulations 2008 o Water Charge Rules 2010 • Develop amendments to water legislation, including to establish the statutory role of the Inspector-General for Murray–Darling Basin Water Resources and to strengthen the compliance and enforcement powers of the Murray–Darling Basin Authority. • Provide policy advice and information on water markets, water charges, trading rules, foreign ownership of water and provide water assurance role on behalf of the Division. • Support for the Commonwealth’s role in chairing the Murray–Darling Basin Ministerial Council, Basin Officials Committee, and other relevant committees.

Further information

  • Postal Address

    GPO Box 858 Canberra ACT 2601 Australia

Last updated: