Agriculture, Water and the Environment
The National Biosecurity Committee (NBC) is formally established under the Intergovernmental Agreement on Biosecurity (IGAB). The NBC provides strategic leadership in managing national approaches to emerging and ongoing biosecurity policy issues across jurisdictions and sectors, and provides advice to the Agriculture Senior Officials' Committee (AGSOC) and the Agricultural Ministers' Forum (AGMIN). The NBC takes an overarching, cross-sectoral approach to national biosecurity policy, and works collaboratively to achieve national policy objectives for biosecurity in Australia. The Secretary of the Australian Government Department of Agriculture and Water Resources chairs the NBC as a member of AGSOC. The Australian Government is also represented by the Department of Agriculture and Water Resources' Deputy Secretary, Biosecurity, and a Deputy Secretary from the Australian Government Department of the Environment. Remaining members are senior representatives from primary industry or environment departments responsible for biosecurity matters in each state or territory. The jurisdictions may have up to two representatives. The Commonwealth is the lead jurisdiction for this task group and the Australian Government Department of Agriculture and Water Resources provides secretariat functions for this committee.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    G. Ministerial Councils and Related Bodies including those Established by the COAG

  • Established By / Under

    Agreement / Treaty / Council Order

  • Established By/Under More info

    Intergovernmental Agreement on Biosecurity

  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Creation Date

    13 January 2012

Last updated: