The Biodiversity Policy and Water Science Branch leads Australia’s engagement on the United Nations Convention of Biological Diversity, works with all levels of government on implementing Australia’s Strategy for Nature, and provides policy advice on Australia’s network of protected areas and the National Reserve System. The branch also includes the Office of Water Science, providing support to the Independent Expert Scientific Committee on coal seam gas and large coal mining development, as well as technical support to the department on water-related impacts of developments under the EPBC Act (1999).

Further information

  • Postal Address

    GPO Box 858 Canberra ACT 2601

Last updated: