The selection committee provides important transparency and independence in the appointment of Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation (RIRDC), trading as AgriFutures Australia, directors. At the request of the Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources, the RIRDC Selection Committee will conduct a selection process to identify candidates for nomination to the minister for appointment as RIRDC directors. Membership includes a presiding member and up to four other members nominated by the presiding member, in consultation with the RIRDC representative organisations. All selection committee members are appointed by the minister.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    E. Statutory Office Holder Offices and Committees

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Primary Industries Research and Development Act 1989

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?

    Yes, but not tabled

  • Classification

    B. Secondary

  • Function Categorization


  • Creation Date

    1 July 1990

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Mr. Lawrie Willett AO 9 February 2017 31 December 2019
Member Ms. Fiona Simson 4 May 2017 31 December 2019
Member Prof. James (Jim) Pratley 4 May 2017 31 December 2019
Member Mr. Bob Mac Smith 4 May 2017 31 December 2019
Member Ms. Alexandra Gartmann 4 May 2017 31 December 2019
Last updated: