The Australian Fisheries Management Authority (AFMA) is the Australian Government agency responsible for the efficient and sustainable management of Commonwealth fish resources on behalf of the Australian community. AFMA was established under and is governed by the Fisheries Administration Act 1991. AFMA manages Commonwealth commercial fisheries across an extensive marine area generally extending from three nautical miles out to sea to the extent of the Australian Fishing Zone including Australian fishing vessels operating on the High Seas. Under its foreign compliance functions, AFMA works with other Australian Government agencies and its international counterparts to deter illegal fishing in the Australian Fishing Zone. AFMA also provides fisheries management services to Joint Authorities of the Commonwealth and state governments, including the Torres Strait Protected Zone Joint Authority (PZJA). • AFMA has a Commission (not Board). • Max no. of members: No more than 8 part-time Commissioners (including the Chair) plus the CEO.

Further information

  • Type of Body

    R. Management Board

  • Established By / Under

    Act / Regulation

  • Established By/Under More info

    Fisheries Administration Act 1991

  • Paid Members?


  • Max No. of Board/Committee Members


  • Annual Report Prepared and tabled?


  • Classification

    X. Internal Management

  • Auditor


  • Function Categorization

    Regulatory / Review / Inquiry / Commission

  • Creation Date

    3 February 1992

Current board appointments

Position Appointee Start Date End Date
Chair Ms Ms. Helen Kroger 1 July 2017 30 June 2022
Deputy Chair Ms Catherine Cooper 23 November 2016 30 June 2019
CEO/Executive Director/Managing Director Mr. Wez Norris 8 April 2019 7 April 2024
Member Mr. Richard Stevens OAM 1 October 2016 30 June 2019
Member Prof. Keith Sainsbury 1 October 2016 30 June 2019
Member Mr. Ian Cartwright 1 October 2016 30 June 2019
Member Ms. Renata Brooks 1 October 2016 30 June 2019
Last updated: